Brahms Double concerto with Philip Higham and Colin Scobie

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 09/11/2019
7:45 pm - 9:45 pm

Stockbridge Parish Church

Categories No Categories

Peter Evans conductor
Colin Scobie violin
Philip Higham cello

Mozart: Symphony No 29 in A major K 201
Stravinsky: Danses Concertantes
Brahms: Double Concerto Op 102

Principal Conductor Peter Evans conducts the 2nd concert of the Meadows season in which Mozart’s classicism and Stravinsky’s neoclassicism are contrasted with Brahms’ wonderful, expansive final work for orchestra. Mozart’s Symphony No. 29 in A – written at the age of 18 – is certainly one of his loveliest.

The Danses Concertantes was originally written for the concert hall, though there can be little doubt that Stravinsky had clear ideas about its suitability for dance.

In Brahms’s Double Concerto, Meadows is joined by SCO principal cello, Philip Higham – making a very welcome return to the Meadows – and violinist Colin Scobie, first violin of the Maxwell Quartet, in a very keenly anticipated first appearance with the orchestra.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *