Season 2016-2017

Tickets for these concerts are available in advance from:
Queen's Hall Box Office
Clerk Street
Tel: 0131 668 2019

and at the door.
£11.00 Full price
£9.00 Concessions
£5.00 Students
£1.00 Children

Saturday 17th September 2016
Inverleith St Serf's Church, Ferry Road, 7.45 pm

Neruda Concertino for Horn and Orchestra
Haydn Symphony No 82 (The Bear)
Mendelssohn Symphony No 3 (Scottish)

Conductor/soloist Alec Frank-Gemmill

Recognised internationally for the exceptional breadth and depth of his musicianship, Alec Frank-Gemmill conducts this programme of 18th and 19th century music. He is also the soloist in the virtuosic Concertino by the Czech composer, Johan Baptist Georg Neruda. The 'Bear' is one of Haydn's Paris symphonies, variously described as a remarkable fusion of brilliance, elegance, and warmth. Felix Mendelssohn was first inspired to write his 3rd Symphony while visiting Holyrood House and it is no coincidence that its dark and brooding introduction resonates well with the "broken and mouldering" ruins of Edinburgh's historic landmark.

Saturday 19th November 2016
Inverleith St Serf's Church, Ferry Road, 7.45 pm

Brahms Symphony No 4
Sibelius Violin Concerto

Conductor David Watkin
Violin Alexander Janiczek

Professor Donald Tovey once wrote "I have not met a more original, a more masterly, and a more exhilarating work than the Sibelius violin concerto". Symphonic in structure, with almost equal importance given to the orchestral accompaniment, the concerto will be performed by the eminent violinist Alexander Janiczek. A regular guest with the MCO, David Watkin conducts Brahms's 4th symphony, a work "that ought to leave you intellectually battered and emotionally bruised rather than superficially consoled". It remains one of music's most powerful and astonishing compositions.

Saturday 11th February 2017
Inverleith St Serf's Church, Ferry Road, 7.45 pm

Saint-Saens Cello Concerto No 1 in A minor Op 33
Shostakovich arr. Barshai Chamber Symphony
Dvořák Waldesruhe (B.182) for Cello and Orchestra
Mozart Symphony No 38 in D K504 (Prague)

Conductor Peter Evans
Cello Philip Higham

Outstanding, award-winning young cellist Philip Higham is soloist in both Saint-Saens's declamatory and lyrical cello concerto and Dvořák's peaceful and beautiful Silent Woods. In the first of principal conductor Peter Evans's MCO programmes this season, the concert is completed with the string orchestra version of Shostakovich's heartbreakingly powerful 8th string quartet and Mozart's exuberant masterpiece, the Prague symphony.

Saturday 3rd June 2017
The Queen's Hall, Edinburgh, 7.45 pm

Lyell Cresswell The Rev. Norman McLeod's Dance
Mozart Piano Concerto No 23 in A K488 (PE)
Poulenc Piano Concerto (JW)
Ravel Suite: Ma mère l'Oye (Mother Goose)

Conductor/Piano Peter Evans
Piano Jack Westwell

The piano plays a prominent part in the season-ending MCO concert: Peter Evans plays and directs one of Mozart's best-loved piano concertos, the magical and lyrical A major K488, and gifted young pianist Jack Westwell, winner of the 2015 Edinburgh Concerto Competition, performs Poulenc's tuneful, energetic, and somewhat neglected piano concerto. The concert opens with Lyell Cresswell's characterful The Rev Norman McLeod's Dance [from his much larger-scale work Shadows without Sun] and ends with Ravel's gorgeous and timeless depiction of childhood, the Mother Goose Suite.

Additional Concert


Sunday 26th March 2017
Beith Community Centre, King's Road, Beith, 2.30 pm (tbc)

Mozart Overture La Clemenza di Tito K621
Mozart Piano Concerto No 23 in A K488
Shostakovich arr. Barshai Chamber Symphony
Dvořák Czech Suite Op 39

Conductor/Piano Peter Evans

Chamber concerts


Sunday 23rd October 2016
Meadows Chamber Ensemble
St Mark's Unitarian Church, Castle Terrace, 3.30 pm

Joaquín Turina (1882-1949) La Oración del Torero (1925)
Manuel de Falla (1876-1946) Harpsichord Concerto (1926)
Roberto Gerhard (1896-1970) Wind Quintet (1928)
Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805) Fandango Quintet

Harpsichord John Kitchen

Let your imagination transport you from our chilly autumn to warmer latitudes with this Spanish-themed concert of mostly early-20th-century chamber music.

Admission free, retiring collection.

Sunday 19th March 2017
Meadows Chamber Ensemble
St Mark's Unitarian Church, Castle Terrace, 3.30 pm

Details to follow. Programme to include the Schubert Octet.

Admission free, retiring collection.